Baked Sunday Mornings: Pecan Tassies

It’s been way too long since my first Baked Sunday Morning, so we’re diving right back in for 2012 with these Pecan Tassies! Basically what we have here is a super duper cute mini pecan pie, made with an easy butter and cream cheese dough and a brown sugar pecan filling. (P.S. It sounds way more posh if you pronounce pecan like Paula Deen =   puh-cahn.)

The original recipe makes 40 tassies, but since I only have two small mini muffin tins (12 slots each), I halved the recipe to make 20. My only issue with these is that I had a lot of filling leftover. I think I would recommend only using half the amount of pecans that the recipe calls for, and just putting a few bits in each tart shell, because mine filled up all the way after adding a little spoonful of filling. Or maybe my mini muffin tins slots are really small? Or maybe my little crusts were too thick? Nothing really beats a slice of pecan pie in my opinion (as the Baked boys say in the book, it has the perfect filling to crust ratio), but these are a cute, portable version. Also, a perfect treat for my Superbowl Golden Globes party tonight!!! More on that tomorrow :)

You can find the recipe here!

Previous Baked Sunday Morning Posts:

Cowboy Cookies

This entry was posted in Baked Sunday Mornings, Pies & Tarts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Baked Sunday Mornings: Pecan Tassies

  1. So pretty and cute! I’ve never heard of a ‘tassy’, but I shall clearly have to make some!

  2. Candy says:

    Looks great! Enjoy your party!

  3. your tassies are super cute! i’d much prefer the pie too, but i was an easy enough recipe! wish i had thought to halve it though… good idea!

  4. Sheri says:

    So happy you’re back with Baked Sunday Mornings! Love our little group. You were so smart to make a half recipe. I ended up with not enough filling and was thinking I filled them up too much. Your plate is adorable.

  5. Susan says:

    Very cute! These are my brother’s favorite Christmas treat so I make them every Christmas. So, I decided to make the NY-style Crumb Cake which I’d missed earlier – it was awesome!

  6. Elaine says:

    Your tassies are cute! I had some leftover filling as well and would have preferred these just a little bit larger because there just wasn’t enough room to put in very much filling so the ratio of filling to crust was a little off, but they sure were delicious.

    • Byn says:

      i totally agree – if i made these again i would maybe try them in a regular sized muffin tin so there would be more filling. or maybe i should just try making butter tarts!

  7. Krissy says:

    Nice post. I also had filling left over. We really like these mini pies…we are pecan pie lovers at our house so these went over well.

Leave a comment